Tuesday, 23 October 2018


The European Flavour Association (EFFA) has a new full ordinary member, McCormick & Company, from January 1. This brings EFFA membership to 22 companies and National Associations. 

This recent addition shows the dynamism of the Association, which has recently elected a new Board and is raising its profile on communication and public affairs with a series of events all over Europe.

Alexander Mohr, Executive Director of EFFA, welcomes an additional company to the EFFA family: “It is a pleasure to welcome McCormick and to keep growing. We already had McCormick representatives as guests in the last EFFA General Assembly and we are sure that they will be an asset in advancing the Association’s mission and goals across Europe”.

McCormick is a global leader in flavor, with USD4.4bn in annual sales and employing more than 11,000 people. Nikolay Ermakov, Vice President R&D, McCormick Europe, Africa and the Middle-East said that the company “is proud to have joined EFFA this year as an Ordinary Member. EFFA is a recognized and influential trade association in the European flavor industry and we believe that with our significant global expertise in the fields of flavor science and regulatory matters, we will add our expertise and insights to EFFA projects".

McCormick is well rooted in Europe, and is part of three national EFFA associations. The company is present in more than 150 markets and territories around the globe, including in Europe, with a leading role in Italy through the Florence based flavor company Enrico Giotti SpA.

Other ordinary EFFA members are also market leaders in the flavour and fragrance industry: Firmenich, Givaudan, IFF, Kerry, Robertet, Sensient, Symrise, Takasago and V. MANE Fils and around 300 Small and Medium Enterprises (SME’s) represented through the 12 National Association members. Diversity contributes to the wealth of the flavour industry and is well portrayed within EFFA.  

March 8-9, EFFA will take part to The European Association Summit and EFFA’s Communications Director, Jimena Gómez de la Flor, has been confirmed as a speaker. 

The European Association Summit (EAS) is a key event for association professionals, focusing on practical cases ranging from local issues, governance, member relations, communications and new technologies.  

The new EFFA Board, pictured from left to right: Massimo Barbeni (AISPEC), Jean Robello (Firmenich, Past President), Dirk Bennwitz (Symrise), Jean Mane (MANE, EFFA Treasurer), Antoine Kastler (Robertet, EFFA President), Henning Hartnacke (Givaudan, EFFA Vice President), Dirk-Archim Müller (DVAI), Marc van der Duijs (IFF) and Alexander Mohr, EFFA Executive Director.

From the 21st of September, EFFA has a renewed Board composition.

EFFA welcomed two new EFFA Board members: Dirk Bennwitz (Symrise) replacing Heiner Schaper and Marc van der Duijs (IFF).

The EFFA Secretariat and the entire Board took the opportunity to thank Heiner Schaper (Symrise) on his last EFFA Board meeting for his crucial contribution to the association as EFFA President from 2009 to 2013.

The EFFA General Assembly voted unanimously to re-elect Jean Mane (MANE) as Treasurer, Antoine Kastler (Robertet) as new EFFA President and Henning Hartnacke (Givaudan) as new EFFA Vice-President.

Jean Robello, who has been President of EFFA since 2013 and who played a key role over the past years as the Communication pillar Board liaison and few months as acting Executive Director will remain on the EFFA Board as ‘Past President’ and as Board liaison on Communications.

Related articles: 

Chicken Rice, Laksa-flavored Potato Chips to Launch in Singapore 

Boulder Canyon Brings Back Seasonal Potato Chips Flavors 

Frito-Lay Launches New Autumn Flavor Brands

Digital edition

 Click or tap to view our digital magazine 
on your tablet or mobile device. 

Latest Events

Nov 6th 2018 -
Global Future Farming Summit
Nov 15th 2018 -
The Seed Industry Event
Nov 25th 2018 - Nov 28th 2018
Jan 8th 2019 - Jan 10th 2019
Jan 9th 2019 - Jan 11th 2019
Potato Expo
Feb 6th 2019 - Feb 9th 2019

Trade Media Solutions S.R.L. | 1-5 G-ral David Praporgescu Str., 1st Floor, District 2, 020965 Bucharest, Romania.
Tel: +40 (0) 21 31 590 31  | E-mail: office@mediatrade.ro